Destination Schools

Academic Success

When it comes to the difficult choices regarding senior school at the ages of 11 or 13, we are here to support parents in finding the right senior school for their child. We suggest that this journey begins in the Spring Term of Year 5 and the school will provide presentations and workshops to parents at this stage to support them in their decision making. It is absolutely imperative that parents and the school work together in identifying the right school for each child and, once a school has been identified, the school will support the child and parents through the journey to entry at 11+ or 13+.

At any point in your child’s education at Holmewood House you are very welcome to meet with the Headmaster to discuss future schools.

The measure of academic success can be made by the success rate of children passing selective exams to Senior Independent and Grammar Schools.

In 2016/17 all Y8 children successfully passed their exams to permit them to move on to Year 9 and to the school of their choice, either via an academic scholarship exam process or via the Common Entrance examination process.

 

Holmewood children move on to many of the major Independent Public Schools.  Below you will find links to the websites of some of these, as well as a number of local state secondary schools, which we hope you will find useful.

13+ Independent Schools
Ampleforth College www.college.ampleforth.org.uk
Ardingly College www.ardingly.com
Bede’s www.bedes.org
Beechwood Sacred Heart www.beechwood.org.uk
Benenden www.benenden.kent.sch.uk
Bethany www.bethanyschool.org.uk
Brighton College www.brightoncollege.org.uk
Charterhouse www.charterhouse.org.uk
Combe Bank www.combebank.co.uk
Cranleigh www.cranleigh.org
Downe House www.downehouse.berks.sch.uk
Downside www.downside.co.uk
Eastbourne College www.eastbourne-college.co.uk
Epsom College www.epsomcollege.org.uk
Eton College www.etoncollege.com
Gordonstoun www.gordonstoun.co.uk
Harrow www.harrowschool.org.uk
Hurstpierpoint www.hppc.co.uk
Kent College Pembury www.kent-college.co.uk
King’s School Canterbury www.kings-school.co.uk
Lancing College www.lancingcollege.co.uk
Marlborough College www.marlboroughcollege.org
Mayfield www.mayfieldgirls.org
Millfield www.millfield.somerset.sch.uk
Milton Abbey www.miltonabbey.co.uk
Radley College www.radley.org.uk
Roedean www.roedean.co.uk
Rugby www.rugbyschool.net
Sevenoaks www.soaks.org
Stowe www.stowe.co.uk
Sutton Valence www.svs.org.uk
Tonbridge www.tonbridge-school.co.uk
Wellington College www.wellington-college.berks.sch.uk
Winchester College www.winchestercollege.org
Woldingham www.woldingham.surrey.sch.uk
Worth www.worth.org.uk
Wycombe Abbey www.wycombeabbey.com
11+ Maintained Schools
Bennett Memorial www.bennett.kent.sch.uk
Cranbrook School www.cranbrookschool.co.uk
Judd www.juddschool.org.uk
Skinners www.skinners-school.co.uk
St Gregory’s www.st-gregorys-comp.kent.sch.uk
Tonbridge Girls’ Grammar www.tgsg.kent.sch.uk
Tunbridge Wells Boys’ Grammar www.twgsb.org.uk
Tunbridge Wells Girls’ Grammar www.twggs.kent.sch.uk
Uplands www.uplandscc.e-sussex.sch.uk
Weald of Kent www.wealdofkent.kent.sch.uk